Thursday, January 28, 2010

Digital Media and Learning Competition

The HASTAC initiative and MacArthur Foundation support a Digital Media and Learning Competition. They're doing an interesting thing this year: applications have been submitted, and they are not gathering public comments on each application.

When I looked, it caught my eye that the top tags in their tag cloud of comments were "engineering", "STEM", "collaboration", "education" and "science". Kind of spells Harvey Mudd College...but we don't seem to have an application in. Well, maybe next year!

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

2010 HASTAC/MacArthur Foundation Digital Media and Learning Competition

HASTAC/MacArthur Foundation competition was recently announced. This is a really interesting competition:

"The theme of this year's Competition is Reimagining Learning and there are two types of awards: 21st Century Learning Lab Designers and Game Changers.

Aligned with National Lab Day as part of the White House's Educate to Innovate Initiative, the 21st Century Learning Lab Designer awards will range from $30,000-$200,000. Awards will be made for learning environments and digital media-based experiences that allow young people to grapple with social challenges through activities based on the social nature, contexts, and ideas of science, technology, engineering and math.

The Game Changers category—undertaken in cooperation with Sony Computer Entertainment of America (SCEA) and Electronic Arts (EA), Entertainment Software Assocation, and the Information Technology Industry Council—will award amounts ranging from $5,000-$50,000 for creative levels designed with either LittleBigPlanet™ or Spore™ Galactic Adventures that offer young people engaging game play experiences and that incorporate and leverage principles of science, technology, engineering and math for learning.

Each category will include several Best in Class awards selected by expert judges, as well as a People’s Choice Award selected by the general public. The online application system will open on January 15 and will include three rounds of submissions, with public comment at each stage.

Please see for all details."